Does Thousand-Year Storm see all the cast triggers from an overloaded Mizzix's Mastery at the same time and copy each spell the same number of times?

Asked by AwesomeOctopus 11 months ago

I have Thousand-Year Storm on the battlefield. I overload Mizzix's Mastery and exile 8 instants and sorceries from my graveyard. Mizzix mastery specifically uses the word cast so all copies go on the stack at the same time and they all count as cast. I can choose the order of the copies, but then thousand year storm sees them on the stack and each gets a copy trigger. are all the copy triggers then going on the stack each from a different copy cast from exile with the mastery, and then most importantly do each of those thousand year storm triggers see the same number of spells as being cast that turn? so that each of the copies cast with mizzix mastery triggers thousand year storm to copy it 9 times, or does it go sequentially? ie one of the copies is copied once, the next to resolve is copied twice etc. I'm pretty sure all the copy triggers see x=9, and then I can arrange those triggers in whatever order I like, correct?

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #1

From the gatherer rulings on Thousand-Year Storm :

If an effect instructs you to cast multiple spells, they’re cast one at a time in any order.

And from Mizzix's Mastery :

If Mizzix’s Mastery exiled multiple cards, you may cast the copies in any order. The last copy you cast will be the first one to resolve.

Therefore; there is an order to the spells being cast and you will get one copy (plus the original) of the first spell you cast off of Mizzix's Mastery , two copies of the second, and so on. You can have the Thousand-Year Storm triggers, and therefore the copies (as batches since all copies of a single spell are all created by the same trigger), resolve in any order you wish. After that, the originals in reverse order to what you cast them (first in last out and all that) will resolve.

July 20, 2019 10:23 a.m.

Yesterday says... #2

Casting multiple spells as part of the resolution of a spell works similarly to stacking the spell triggers, Thousand-Year Storm is specifically worded to avoid doing this the way you were hoping to, like what can be done with Aetherflux Reservoir .

With Aetherflux Reservoir you can cast a spell, get the trigger, respond to the trigger by casting another spell, then get another trigger. By the time the first Reservoir trigger resolves, it will check for 'each spell cast' this turn, which is more than 1 even though it was triggered by the first spell cast.

Thousand-Year Storm specifically says to do the thing for 'each spell cast before it [was cast]' this turn. Even if multiple triggers are stacked by casting more spells in response to the trigger, when the first trigger from the first spell resolves, it will still see that the first spell had no extra spells cast before it this turn, so it won't get any benefit from stacking multiple triggers. Just as god intended.

July 20, 2019 6:05 p.m.

Caerwyn says... #3

In the future, please remember to hit the green “mark as answer” button to indicate your question has been resolved. Since this question has been answered for a couple of days with no follow-up questions, I have gone ahead and marked an answer on your behalf.

July 24, 2019 8:38 a.m.

Please login to comment