Convoluted Phasing

Asked by Brastus 5 years ago

There are probably simpler ways, but bear with me on this:

Say that you have Sapphire Charm or Reality Ripple , and that Mycosynth Lattice is in play., or you happen to have Liquimetal Coating or SOMETHING that makes things into artifacts some how. Now add Bludgeon Brawl so that they're equipment if they're not creatures..I have been told, that a token that is phased out, ceases to exist, and that anything attached to it doesnt come back without it. So... If you attach the newly made Equipment cards, like, one of your lands, for whatever reason, or something, to a token you've made through whatever means, Will the same apply to it as well if you phase it out?

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

Because the Equipment phased out indirectly, they will not phase back in because the token has ceased to exist. Permanents that phase out indirectly can only phase in if the permanent to which they're attached also phases in.

702.25k Phased-out tokens cease to exist as a state-based action. See rule 704.5d.

702.25f When a permanent phases out, any Auras, Equipment, or Fortifications attached to that permanent phase out at the same time. This alternate way of phasing out is known as phasing out "indirectly." An Aura, Equipment, or Fortification that phased out indirectly won't phase in by itself, but instead phases in along with the permanent its attached to.

June 30, 2014 8:57 a.m.

This discussion has been closed