Clever Impersonator

Asked by iAzire 3 years ago

I've looked at all of the rulings and I can't seem to figure this out. Is Clever Impersonator still a creature when it copies the permanent?

As such what permanent rulings does it go by? If I use it to copy an Enchantment do I use Copy Enchantment to make another copy or Clone ? Would either work?

I ask because I want to know if I can copy the Impersonator after it has copied something else. For example, using Rite of Replication on Clever Impersonator.

Denial048 says... #1

It will copy all copyable values of the card it is copying. So if it enters as a copy of Verdant Haven, it enters as an Enchantment and acts exactly like an enchantment.

You will not be able to use Clone on the Verdant Haven Clever Impersonator as it no longer counts as a creature.

February 23, 2016 4:01 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #2

Unless the copy effect specifies otherwise, the copied object's properties overwrite the copying object's properties. Clever Impersonator's ability doesn't specify that it retains any of its characteristics, so it will have only the characteristics of the copied object. If you copy a non-creature, Clever Impersonator is no longer a creature.

February 23, 2016 7:19 a.m.

This discussion has been closed