Cephalid Snitch vs protection

Asked by chosenone124 11 months ago

My opponent is enchanted with Overwhelming Splendor and controls:

Progenitus

True-Name Nemesis

Iridescent Angel

I have 3 copies of Cephalid Snitch. I use their abilities on my opponent's 3 creatures, and they remove my Splendor after my Snitches resolve their abilities.

Which of my opponent's creatures can be targeted by black spells?

Neotrup says... Accepted answer #1

Definitely Iridescent Angel, and definitely not Progenitus. True-Name Nemesis can be targeted by black spells not controlled by the chosen player. If True-Name Nemesis entered before it's controller was enchanted it will have a chosen player, probably you, and you won't be able to target it, but if it entered while they were enchanted, it didn't have the ability to choose a player and won't actually be protected from anything.

January 11, 2018 11:30 a.m.

Even if, in theory, Progenitus were to lose protection from black, it wouldn't do anything practically speaking. He'd still have protection from instants/sorceries/creatures/artifacts/enchantments/planeswalkers etc. Nothing black would be able to circumvent protection anyhow because it would possess some other characteristic that Prog still has protection from.

January 11, 2018 3:03 p.m.

Please login to comment