Kaervek the Merciless and X Spells

Asked by Profet93 2 years ago

If I cast an Exsanguinate for 100 and my opponent has a Kaervek the Merciless, does Kaervek the Merciless deal 100 damage?

Boza says... Accepted answer #1

No.

Actually, it will be 102 damage damage from Kaervek - the cost of an X spell on the stack includes the value selected for X. So it will be 100 + 2 for the in Exsanguinate.

April 4, 2017 3:40 a.m. Edited.

Profet93 says... #2

Boza

Wow, that was .... not the answer I was hoping for. sigh

Alright. Thank you so much for your help, I really appreciate it

April 4, 2017 3:43 a.m.

Neotrup says... #3

And Kaervek's trigger resolves first, likely removing you from the game and stopping Exsanguinate from resolving at all. Unless you have too much life, hexproof, or an opponent who's bad at choosing the best target.

April 4, 2017 3:44 a.m.

That Elvish Mystic has been looking at me wrong for a while now, it takes 102 damage.

April 4, 2017 10:58 a.m.

Profet93 says... #5

Neotrup Yea, thats what I've been told

Raging_Squiggle that's EXACTLY what I tried telling him

April 4, 2017 4:40 p.m.

Please login to comment