Can Shelldock Isle stockpile exiled cards to mass play with Return Land to Hand?

Asked by Loreshadow 3 months ago

Do the cards in exile stay in exile even when the land leaves play? Do multiple lands played in same turn exile into the same pile or a new one each?

Using Deprive, Slab Hammer, and Pearl Lake Ancient.

cards do what they say, nothing more nothing less. since Shelldock Isle says nothing about what happens to the exiled cards when it leaves play, nothing happens to them. they stay there.

not sure how you plan to play multiple lands in the "same turn", but i'm assuming you mean replaying the same Shelldock Isle again, regardless of which turn. when a card leaves and re-enters the battlefield for any reason, it is treated as a new entity entirely and any cards affected by its previous existence are no longer affected. if you replay a Shelldock Isle after bouncing it to your hand, you would only be able to cast the most recently exiled card for free. if you had not yet cast the first exiled card before bouncing the land, then you lose your chance. note however, there is technically only 1 exile pile.

May 15, 2018 7:48 p.m.

Neotrup says... Accepted answer #2

Correction: There is only 1 exile zone, but it may contain multiple piles of cards. The exile zone can have multiple distinct piles, as each pile exiled by a particular permanent must be kept in separate piles, see 406.4. In this case each time you replay Shelldock Isle it will create a new "pile" of a single card and will only be able to cast that one card.

If Shelldock Isle does manage to exile multiple cards without leaving the battlefield (for instance you can activate Strionic Resonator targeting it's Hideaway trigger), it's activated ability will let you cast each exiled card.

May 15, 2018 8:04 p.m.

Loreshadow says... #3

Ok then. Still pretty cool. Thank you.

May 15, 2018 8:19 p.m.

Please login to comment