Can morph turning face-up be prevented?
Asked by Tekkis 2 years agoResponding to morph being turned face-up is impossible, because it does not use stack (special action). Can cards like Abeyance or Orim's Chant prevent morph to be turned face-up if it has resolved and after it has resolved opponent tries to turn morph? Is there any card that can stop/prevent morph to be turned face-up?
Abeyance talks specifically about activated abilities (the Oracle text is clearer on that than the printed card), and as you said yourself, turning a permanent face-up for its morph cost is a special action. Orim's Chant will prevent the targetted player from casting a card face-down from their hand by paying , but not from unmorphing.
To prevent a card from being unmorphed, a card would have to say something like "This turn, cards can't be turned face-up", or something like that. To my knowledge, there are no such cards.
November 3, 2017 6:51 a.m.
Digging more in to this I would like to have some clarification.
With current ruling 702.36e would prevent turning it face-up. I might have misunderstood that ruling and have second question then.
702.36e Any time you have priority, you may turn a face-down permanent you control with a morph ability face up. This is a special action; it doesnt use the stack (see rule 115). To do this, show all players what the permanents morph cost would be if it were face up, pay that cost, then turn the permanent face up. (If the permanent wouldnt have a morph cost if it were face up, it cant be turned face up this way.) The morph effect on it ends, and it regains its normal characteristics. Any abilities relating to the permanent entering the battlefield dont trigger when its turned face up and dont have any effect, because the permanent has already entered the battlefield.
November 3, 2017 7:32 a.m.
A: No. Morph is static ability and turning face-up is special action.
Q2: Is there any card that can stop/prevent morph to be turned face-up?
A: Yes. Cards like Humility removes morph ability to turn face-up.Turning morph face-up is special action which includes 3 parts.
- You show what the cost is for turning face-up.
- You pay the cost to turn morph face-up.
- You turn the morph face-up.
When at first step you are checking the cost, Humility removes it and you can't pay the cost for turning morph face-up.
2003 the Magic Rules Team adressed this problem
- If Humility is in play, it's not possible to turn face-down creatures face up using the morph ability. Humility removes the morph cost when it removes the morph ability, and so it prevents you from doing this.
November 3, 2017 9:20 a.m.
Keep in mind Humility only removes the morph ability from creatures that would still be creatures when turned face up. If the card in question is a non creature card with morph it will still be able to be turned face up.