can i use Dawn Charm to regenerate creatures in my graveyard?

Asked by darthtofu 5 years ago

i.e. if i use Buried Alive can i use Dawn Charm to regenerate the creatures i chose with Buried Alive ?

cschiller says... #1

Do you know what regenerate does?

June 25, 2014 12:34 a.m.

erabel says... Accepted answer #2

"Regenerate" in Magic means something specific: "The next time (insert thing here) would go from the battlefield to the graveyard this turn, it doesn't; instead, some other stuff happens (which is irrelevant to this question)." It does not mean "bring dead things back to life".

You can't "regenerate" a creature you put into the graveyard with Buried Alive .

June 25, 2014 12:36 a.m.

darthtofu says... #3

thanks erabel! i really appreciate the answer and for clarifying for someone still kinda learning the rules of the game.People like you make the game fun! cschiller answering the question with another question defeats the purpose of the Q & A. so next time just dont.

June 25, 2014 12:54 a.m.

Drilnoth says... #4

cschiller answering the question with another question defeats the purpose of the Q & A. so next time just dont.

No need to be hostile. Regenerate is a complicated mechanic and cschiller was just checking to see if you knew how it works. A Q&A is about questions and answers, not necessarily a single question with a single answer.

Regardless, erabel is correct.

June 25, 2014 2:57 a.m.

Devonin says... #5

@Drilnoth It absolutely read like "Wow you're stupid" not "I'd like to clarify your knowledge of this mechanic." because if darthtofu did know what regenerate was and how it worked, he wouldn't ask this question in the first place.

June 25, 2014 7:25 a.m.

nobu_the_bard says... #6

I would like to clarify further that a "Regeneration shield" interacts with destruction specifically. It possible for something to go the graveyard from the battlefield for a reason other than being destroyed (such as being sacrificed) that Regeneration does not protect against.

June 25, 2014 11 a.m.

darthtofu says... #7

thanks for the info guys it is really appreciated! and sorry if the comment to cschiller was hostile but i read his comment like Devonin did and he sounded like a elite who looked down on common folks, but if he was just asking then my apologies mr chiller. but thank you erabel , Devonin, Drilnoth, nobu_the_bard for your help!

June 25, 2014 11:14 a.m.

Drilnoth says... #8

@darthtofu, @Devonin: Fair enough. The meaning of text can be difficult to interpret sometimes.

June 25, 2014 2:24 p.m.

nerudafan says... #9

Interesting things, Regeneration will not prevent a creatures death as result of a -X/-X effect (cards like Drown in Sorrow or Bile Blight ) and, if you get on a scenario of Thrun, the Last Troll activated ability vs a Wrath of God , the creature cannot be regenerated.

June 25, 2014 4:43 p.m.

This discussion has been closed