Asylum Visitor 's madness interaction with Smallpox .

Asked by Pheardemons 2 years ago

So let's say I cast Smallpox and discard Asylum Visitor for the part that says "each player discards a card." How does the madness resolve with Smallpox ?

From what I understand Smallpox should resolve in full BEFORE Asylum Visitor gets put onto the battlefield (so I don't need to sacrifice it to Smallpox 's "each player sacrifices a creature" clause). First off, is that correct?

Second, when I discard Asylum Visitor do I pay the two mana right there, put Asylum Visitor into exile, let Smallpox resolve in full, THEN put Asylum Visitor onto the battlefield?

GearNoir says... #1

From what I understand, Smallpox must resolve completely first. Then Madness may be used to replace Asylum Visitor from going to the graveyard as you make your sacrifices/discards from Smallpox. Then when all players have finished their sacs/discards, you pay the Madness cost to cast Visitor.

February 5, 2017 11:13 a.m.

acbooster says... Accepted answer #2

I think the important thing here is to define what Madness is exactly.

Madness represents 2 abilities: The first is a static ability that functions in the hand, and the second is a triggered ability that functions when the first is applied.

What will happen is that you will discard Asylum Visitor to Smallpox, it'll go immediately into exile instead of the graveyard, and the trigger will wait to go onto the stack. Once Smallpox is done resolving, the trigger will go on the stack and you'll have the option to pay for it then.

So to answer the first question, you are correct. The Visitor won't be on the field until after Smallpox is done resolving. For the second one, you'll discard the Visitor to exile, resolve the rest of Smallpox, and then make the payment and put the spell on the stack.

February 5, 2017 11:52 a.m.

Gidgetimer says... #3

702.34a Madness is a keyword that represents two abilities. The first is a static ability that functions while the card with madness is in a players hand. The second is a triggered ability that functions when the first ability is applied. Madness [cost] means If a player would discard this card, that player discards it, but exiles it instead of putting it into his or her graveyard and When this card is exiled this way, its owner may cast it by paying [cost] rather than paying its mana cost. If that player doesnt, he or she puts this card into his or her graveyard.

Static abilities apply at all times and don't use the stack. They are things that are simply true about the game. This means that the first ability represented by madness will have you exile the card instead of sending it to the graveyard any time you would discard it.

Triggered abilities can trigger at anytime, but must be put on the stack and resolve to have their effect. Triggered abilities go on the stack right before a player receives priority. Since no player receives priority during the resolution of spells and abilities the triggered ability represented by madness will wait until after Small Pox has completely resolved and the active player would receive priority to be put on the stack.

This means that if you discard Asylum Visitor to Small Pox Asylum Visitor will be exiled and Small Pox will continue to resolve. After the Small Pox resolution is finished the ability to cast Asylum Visitor for its madness cast will go on the stack. Once the ability to cast Asylum Visitor for its madness cost is allowed to resolve Asylum Visitor will go on the stack. Once Asylum Visitor is allowed to resolve then it will enter the battlefield. So in terms of game actions Asylum Visitor enters the battlefield way after Small Pox is done resolving.

February 5, 2017 12:04 p.m.

Pheardemons says... #4

Thank you to everyone who answered! This definitely helped me understand madness as well as static abilities.

February 6, 2017 8:58 a.m.

This discussion has been closed