Am I able to play a spell with no target when it resolves?

Asked by Dreykon 3 years ago

My friend had a Blightsteel Colossus in play. I Hijack him attack it hits. After combat I go to use Bone Splinters can I target the colossus and sacrifice him as part of the cost? Keep in mind if i sacrifice it there are no other legal targets when the spell resolves.

Zaueski says... Accepted answer #1

If you swing at someone with a Blightsteel Colossus and it hits that game ends because they lose to infect. If this is a multiplayer game, then you can't sacrifice it because your friend just lost and all cards he owns disappear from the field regardless of current control status. If he blocked at least 2 points of damage and got the rest trampled over putting him at 9 or under infect then yes, in that situation you can use Bone Splinters to sacrifice the Colossus.

January 8, 2017 8:25 a.m.

Dreykon says... #2

He prevented 3 of the damage. I was hoping to end game after the Hijack lol. We were not sure about this so we decided I was not able to play Bone Splinters but know we know better for next time. Thank you Zaueski

January 8, 2017 8:39 a.m.

Zaueski says... #3

For future situations similar to that, you can target the colossus, sacrifice it as part of the cost and the spell will fizzle. So the spell doesn't resolve, but there was a legal target on cast and the costs get rid of the creature.

January 8, 2017 8:41 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #4

To explain a little further, the casting process is actually a series of steps executed in a very specific order. First, you announce the spell and put it onto the stack. Then you choose modes, whether you'll be using any alternate/additional costs, and targets. Then you determine and pay costs.

Because you choose targets before you pay costs, you can choose a target that you know won't be around after costs are paid. The spell is still legally cast; it just won't do anything to the illegal target (and it will be countered if all of its targets are illegal, but this doesn't undo the casting process).

January 8, 2017 12:29 p.m.

Dreykon says... #5

Thank you both a lot really appreciate it Epochalyptik&Zaueski

January 8, 2017 11:59 p.m.

This discussion has been closed