Act of Teason return to owner or previous controller

Asked by sges 1 year ago

When Act of Treason or similarly worded cards effect ends at end of turn does the creature return to its owners or previous controllers control? This comes into play if a card was stolen permanently earlier in the game and you target it with Act of Treason . This does not effect creatures with enchantments like Mind Control or Hypnotic Siren as clearly the controller of the enchantment would regain control.

BlueScope says... Accepted answer #1

It returns to the control of the player with the most recent control-changing effect in place, or it's owner if there isn't any. There is actually no technical difference between auras like Mind Control and other control-changing effects, as the aura's effect doesn't "overwrite" anything (or otherwise, you wouldn't be able to steal it with Act of Treason in the first place). The only difference is that the control-changing effect doesn't last until end of turn, but only as long as the aura remains attached.

To give an example:

  • player B casts Bribery, pulling any random creature from player A's deck. This control-changing effect lasts indefinitely.
  • on player C's turn, they cast Mind Control on that creature, taking control over it. Bribery's control-changing effect is still in place, but overwritten by the more recent Mind Control effect.
  • on player D's turn, they cast Act of Treason on the same creature. Again, both previous control-changing effects are in place, yet Act is the most recent, so it takes precedence. In the cleanup step, control of the creature returns to player C (who's Mind Control is now the most recent active control-changing effect).
  • On player A's turn, they activate Homeward Path's second ability, creating a control-changing effect for all creatures, which also lasts indefinitely and is most recent, so even though Mind Control remains attached, it doesn't do a whole lot at this point.
June 19, 2017 4:15 a.m.

BlueScope says... #2

And of course, if Mind Control was removed at any point before player A activated Homeward Path, control would return to player B, whose Bribery created the then-most-recent control-changing effect.

June 19, 2017 4:18 a.m.

Please login to comment