Enchantment Creature Gods and recursion

Standard forum

Posted on Sept. 9, 2013, 4:53 p.m. by harrydemon117

So, with alot of the "enchantment creatures" and the deities that are enchantments, would Treasury Thrull get that much better now for recursion?

Being able to use it at 6 CMC and then follow up with an Angel of Serenity maybe Orzhov midrange/control could be a thing...

raithe000 says... #2

I'm not sure how Enchantment Creatures add to Treasury Thrull. It can already get either Enchantments or Creatures.

September 9, 2013 5:22 p.m.

pookypuppy6 says... #3

They do however add to other cards. For example, Auramancer can (I think) get enchantment creatures out of the grave, including (I think) ye gods. Someone will have to clarify to me though whether the devotion "isn't a creature" thing works outside the battlefield though, I just want to check.

September 9, 2013 6:12 p.m.

raithe000 says... #4

Auramancer would get enchantment creatures out of the grave. Although, other than discard effects/milling, its hard to see how the gods would be in the grave in the first place. Still useful for the regular enchantment creatures, though.

September 9, 2013 6:22 p.m.

JWiley129 says... #5

Yeah, Treasury Thrull is just as useful as he already was. Nothing new to see here. BUT, I wonder if the gods are considered creatures in the library/hand/graveyard regardless of your devotion?

September 9, 2013 7:14 p.m.

I believe they'd be considered creature cards rather than creatures, if I'm not mistaken.

September 9, 2013 7:59 p.m.

brn3445 says... #7

Heartless Summoning now leaves so haste BWR

September 10, 2013 1:59 a.m.

Schuesseled says... #8

The gods, are both enchantment cards, and creature cards whilst in the graveyard, and auramancer can put it back in your hand.

September 10, 2013 5:13 a.m.

harrydemon117 says... #9

Yes Auramancer can pull them out of the graveyard, but can anything else? They say right on them that if your devotion to X is < 5 they are NOT a creature.

September 10, 2013 9:05 a.m.

harrydemon117 says... #10

...the God cards that is.

September 10, 2013 9:06 a.m.

raithe000 says... #11

The God cards have an ability that turns them into not a creature. It will only function when they are a permanent. Anywhere else, they are both enchantments and creatures, so anything that cares about one of those types can affect them.

September 10, 2013 9:11 a.m.

harrydemon117 says... #12

Ah, got it. Thanks raithe000!

So then Scavenging Ooze can still exile them. Perfect :)

September 11, 2013 10:11 a.m.

Barandis says... #13

Importantly, there is no ability that can change a card's type when it's not a permanent. Characteristic-defining abilities are static abilities that can change its "colors, subtypes, power, or toughness" when it's not on the battlefield (CR 604.3a), like how a Tarmogoyf can have a P/T of greater than 0/1 even when it's in your hand.

CDA's cannot change the type. The ability on the god card can, so it's not a CDA and therefore doesn't function outside of the battlefield. God cards will always be both enchantments and creatures when they're in the graveyard, no matter what, in exactly the same way that they're always Legendary.

September 11, 2013 12:55 p.m.

This discussion has been closed