What happens to an indestructible battle?

Asked by legendofa 7 months ago

Simple set up. I'm defending Invasion of Amonkhet  Flip or whatever, the exact battle doesn't matter. I don't want it to be "killed" too quickly, so I throw an Indestructibility on it.

Atraxa's Fall can't destroy it, that one's easy. The exile and transform is a triggered ability going off when the last counter is removed, but is the "defeat" any sort of destroy effect? What happens when the last counter is removed from an indestructible battle?

wallisface says... Accepted answer #1

A defeated battle isn’t destroyed, when it’s defeated it just has its triggered ability go on the stack and resolve, which in the case of all existing battles so far just lets you cast the flipside.

Making the battle indestructible will change nothing about it at all except to prevent spells explicitly trying to destroy it.

September 8, 2023 1:39 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #2

To back up what wallisface is saying, here's the relevant rule about Sieges from the Comprehensive Rules document:

310.11b Sieges have the intrinsic ability “When the last defense counter is removed from this permanent, exile it, then you may cast it transformed without paying its mana cost.”

September 8, 2023 9:27 a.m.

legendofa says... #3

wallisface and Rhadamanthus As always, thanks for the help!

September 8, 2023 9:29 a.m.

Please login to comment