Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth and black fetches

Asked by MarvinPointiacIII 6 years ago

Scenario: Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth is in play and I fetch using a Polluted Delta or Bloodstained Mire (or Verdant Catacombs or Marsh Flats for all you legacy cats...).

Since Urborg makes all lands swamps, can I fetch for ANY land I want?

I'm assuming the answer is NO, but I am interested to know the rule that explains why. I'm assuming something to do with card attributes existing in a different way when on the battlefield than when in the library.

Thanks community!

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1


Whenever an effect references a permanent type (e.g. "land(s)" or "creature(s)") without using the wording "[type] card(s)," then it refers only to permanents of that type. Permanents only exist on the battlefield.

Because Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth's ability states "Each land is a Swamp in addition to its other land types" it affects only land permanents. Land cards in other zones remain unaffected.

December 9, 2014 2:30 a.m.

Aha, thanks very much for the clarification!

Any chance you know where this would be cited in the comprehensive rules? No biggie, but if you do I'm interested in learning.


December 9, 2014 3 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

609.1. An effect is something that happens in the game as a result of a spell or ability. When a spell, activated ability, or triggered ability resolves, it may create one or more one-shot or continuous effects. Static abilities may create one or more continuous effects. Text itself is never an effect.

609.2. Effects apply only to permanents unless the instruction's text states otherwise or they clearly can apply only to objects in one or more other zones.

Example: An effect that changes all lands into creatures won't alter land cards in players' graveyards. But an effect that says spells cost more to cast will apply only to spells on the stack, since a spell is always on the stack while a player is casting it.

December 9, 2014 3:14 a.m.

This discussion has been closed