Spells you cast cost 1 less to cast?

Asked by clharley 4 years ago

Does Undead Warchief ability 'zombie spells you cast cost 1 less' mean that Geralf's Messenger costs 1 less mana, or does it mean cards like this Death Baron with the 1 symbol next to its mana cost is reduced?

merrowMania says... Accepted answer #1

It means that your Zombies cost 1 generic mana less to cast. As Geralf's Messenger costs BBB to cast, the reductions does nothing for it (unless there is something like Sphere of Resistance out). Your example with Death Baron is correct, as it has a generic mana in its mana cost which CAN be reduced by Undead Warchief.

August 17, 2016 2:13 p.m.

Abilities like that of Undead Warchief only reduce the generic mana of a zombie spell, not the colored mana of the spell.

Death Baron will cost mana symbol bmana symbol b.

Geralf's Messenger will still cost mana symbol bmana symbol bmana symbol b

August 17, 2016 2:15 p.m.

clharley says... #3

Thank you both for your reply's. I understand it now fine.

August 23, 2016 3:56 p.m.

This discussion has been closed