Snapcaster Flashback into Overload?

Asked by Nightmist10 12 years ago

I know I'm ahead of times, but I'm curious because of how it reads. MTG Salvation has Mizzium Mortars spoiled with an Overload mechanic. Since that doesn't specify being cast from the hand, could I use Snapcaster Mage's ability and flash back Mizzium Mortars for its Overload cost?

MindAblaze says... #1

Yes, the alternate Overload cost just changes the effect of the spell, so you'd just be paying 4RRRU to flashback Street Spasm instead. Snapcaster Mage just let's you cast cards from your graveyard, it doesn't care how you pay for them.

September 8, 2012 8:13 p.m.

Nightmist10 says... #2

If you don't mind me continuing to pick your brain, jminute14, I have another question as well. Since Goblin Electromancer's ability says it lowers casting costs of Instants and sorceries by 1, would that in turn lower the flashback cost generated by Snapcaster Mage? I believe so, but I'm only slightly unsure. I know it wouldn't be as rediculous as lowering it twice for 1 Electromancer. I'm curious, thinking that the cost would be cut in graveyard (if the effect is as global in zone influence as I'm guessing) would it then lower the generated flashback cost again? I don't believe so, but your input is much appreciated. Thank you.

September 8, 2012 8:42 p.m.

Emrakool says... #3

Yes, Goblin Electromancer would affect the flashback cost.

702.32a Flashback appears on some instants and sorceries. It represents two static abilities: one that functions while the card is in a player's graveyard and the other that functions while the card is on the stack. "Flashback [cost]" means "You may cast this card from your graveyard by paying [cost] rather than paying its mana cost" and "If the flashback cost was paid, exile this card instead of putting it anywhere else any time it would leave the stack." Casting a spell using its flashback ability follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2e-g.

In this case, you are paying an alternate cost to cast an instant or sorcery spell and Goblin Electromancer would reduce that cost by 1 colorless mana.

September 8, 2012 9:30 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #4

To answer the question, no you cannot cast a spell for its overload cost when you flash it back with Snapcaster Mage . Snapcaster Mage 's ability gives a spell a flashback cost that is equal to its mana cost. If you want to flash back a spell, you must do so for its flashback cost. You may not use an alternate casting cost.

For example, Snapcasting a Force of Will will give Force of Will "flashback 3UU." You may not pay FoW's alternate casting cost if you are flashing it back.

September 8, 2012 9:57 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #5

Additionally, flashback itself is an alternative cost.

September 8, 2012 10:08 p.m.

MindAblaze says... #6

That does make more sense than what I said...rtfc I guess, it says right on Snapcaster Mage "flashback cost is equal to its mana cost" if it said "you may cast target card from your graveyard." It's funny because as I was writing it I was thinking...that would make Force of Will even more broken than it was before. Thanks Epoch, saves the day again. :)

September 8, 2012 10:55 p.m.

Emrakool says... #7

On the bright side, Pact of Negation costs 0 when given flashback with Snapcaster Mage .

September 8, 2012 11:08 p.m.

Phobophile says... #8

still gotta pay that echo cost though

September 9, 2012 7:18 a.m.

Phobophile says... #9

still gotta pay that echo cost though

September 9, 2012 7:18 a.m.

This discussion has been closed