Regeneration vs Day of Judgement

Asked by ReymondKira 13 years ago

With my understanding of the rules for the card day-of-judgement and the ability/spell RegenerateMTG Card: Regenerate. If you can afford the cost to RegenerateMTG Card: Regenerate the creature, you can keep the creature from dieing with day-of-judgement and like spells.

This is because of the rules for RegenerateMTG Card: Regenerate:

701.12a If the effect of a resolving spell or ability regenerates a permanent, it creates a replacement effect that protects the permanent the next time it would be destroyed this turn. In this case, Regenerate [permanent] means The next time [permanent] would be destroyed this turn, instead remove all damage marked on it and tap it. If its an attacking or blocking creature, remove it from combat.

So my question is: Does RegenerateMTG Card: Regenerate save a creature from day-of-judgement and other like spells?

GoblinsInc says... Accepted answer #1

Yes. If you regenerate a creature it makes a regeneration "shield". This shield will do as the rule says

"Regenerate [permanent] means The next time [permanent] would be destroyed this turn, instead remove all damage marked on it and tap it. If its an attacking or blocking creature, remove it from combat."

So if someone casts a Destroy all Creatures, then yes regeneration will save the creature from being destroyed.

Note that some destroy spells will get around this, like Wrath of God (note the "They can't be regenerated")

April 9, 2012 9:33 p.m.

GoblinsInc says... #2

oh, also note that regeneration does not save creatures from things like sacrificing, exile, nor having toughness of 0 or less. So things like Black Sun's Zenith can kill the creature.

April 9, 2012 9:37 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

GoblinsInc is correct. Unless the effect specifically states that the creature cannot be regenerated (Wrath of GodMTG Card: Wrath of God, DamnationMTG Card: Damnation, Decree of PainMTG Card: Decree of Pain, Plague WindMTG Card: Plague Wind, etc.), it can be regenerated. Since Day of JudgmentMTG Card: Day of Judgment does not have this clause, a creature with a regeneration shield will survive it.

April 9, 2012 9:38 p.m.

This discussion has been closed