Ravenous Slime
Asked by btico1983 6 years ago
We have a question about when trigger ability from Ravenous Slime happend if two damage are dealt to him and my creature, my friend says that this ability triggers when my creature "are going to die" so his Slime gets the +1/+1 counters and gets safe.
DrukenReaps says... #2
So I can't find anything immediately one way or the other but I'm fairly sure the slime dies. Going through step by step:
1) Damage is done
2) Creatures toughness is checked
3) Creatures with lethal damage die
4) On damage triggers are checked
5) death triggers are checked
Anyone can feel free to correct me but the Ravenous Slime is dead on step 3 which happens before step 5. It's ability still triggers so things get exiled but the counters have no place to go.
You might look at rulings on Rite of Passage since that is very similar but also doesn't save creatures from dying.
For future reference this sort of thing goes in the Rules Q&A.
August 19, 2018 11:31 p.m.
Your friend is trying to pull one over on you, the slime definitely died.
If both creatures were in play and damaged by the same effect, then both would die to the damage simultaneously, making it impossible for the slime to grow because its dead already when the trigger would happen.
August 20, 2018 10:38 a.m.
For future reference, the Commander forum is for deck advice, feedback, and questions about the Commander format itself. There is a Rules Q&A section of this site for questions regarding interactions between cards. It's a pretty nifty little tool, and there's always a couple of brilliant players lurking about to answer questions in a timely manner.
I've gone ahead and moved your question to the Rules Q&A section. Please be sure to mark one of the answers above as accepted so everyone knows your question has been answered.
August 20, 2018 10:44 a.m.
Thank you all for the answers. enpc, DrukenReaps, Rzepkanut.
August 20, 2018 11:32 a.m.
Gidgetimer says... #6
Small point of note, the second ability is a replacement effect, not a trigger. It doesn't matter in this particular case since the important part is that all state-based actions are performed simultaneously and both creatures die at the same time. But the other creature gets exiled and never hit the graveyard for the purposes of death triggers or any instant speed graveyard interaction.
enpc says... Accepted answer #1
I'm not entirely sure about your questions but it sounds like you're asking something like:
"If 2 damage is split between Ravenous Slime and another 1/1 creature, would the slime survive or would it die?"
So a few things, if the player who controls the Ravenous Slime also controls the 1/1 creature then Ravenous Slime's ability won't trigger as the ability says "If a creature an opponent controls".
If we assume the other 1/1 creature is an opponent's creature (which sounds like the situation you're describing), then here's what happens:
the ability wich is dealing the damage to both creatures is on the stack.
The ability resolves, dealing damage to both creatures simultaneously.
Both creatures in this case die due to the damage being marked on them (as a state based effect).
The Ravenous Slime will see the other creature dying and its ability will be placed on the stack.
The ability will attempt to resolve however the Slime is already in the graveyard so the ability fizzles.
If lethal damage has been dealt to the Ravenous Slime, it will die before its second abilty can trigger. So it won't have a chance to have the +1/+1 counters on it.
So in that circumstance if you friend thought that hte Ravenous Slime survived then your friend would be wrong.
August 19, 2018 11:26 p.m.