Olivia and Gideon

Asked by darkmatter32x 7 years ago

I'm too lazy to do the research. But what would happen at the end of turn if Olivia Voldaren somehow able to control an animated Gideon.

For arguement sake lets say Flaring Pain had resolved, then Olivia damaged an animated Gideon Jura using her 1st ability, then gain control of Gideon using her second ability.

TheVectornaut says... Accepted answer #2

You don't even need the Flaring Pain for this since Olivia Voldaren's first ability will turn an animated Gideon into a planeswalker even when damage is prevented. When the turn ends, Gideon Jura will cease to be a creature and thus cease to be a vampire. However, Olivia's second ability only checks that the target is a vampire upon declaration and resolution. Gideon not being a vampire won't cause you to lose control of him, although losing control of Olivia will. I've used this idea in the past to gain control of manlands with a Roil Elemental. If the control effect was an aura instead of spell/activated ability, Gideon reverting to a noncreature would cause the aura to "fall off" and you'd lose control of the planeswalker.

October 26, 2017 11:13 a.m.

TheVectornaut says... #3

Also, here's a post by Todd Bussey, a rules adviser on Facebook:

"[...]the Olivia Voldaren effect is still on the object, but there is no dependency between Voldaren's effect and Gideon's effect so they apply in timestamp order in Layer 4. Olivia's effect does nothing because Jura's not a creature, then Jura's effect makes him a creature - soldier."

You'll need to activate Olivia's first ability again if you want to get the vampire subtype back on the stolen Gideon for a turn. Might be useful for vampire synergy or the like.

October 26, 2017 11:31 a.m.

Please login to comment