Multiplayer Edh
Asked by takami 12 years ago
So what happens to cards that someone takes control of from you and then they lose. Do I gain control of it back? or does it just go to the graveyard.
If you want to look it up I believe rule 800.4a is the relevant rule here.
February 2, 2013 5:05 a.m.
Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #3
800.4a When a player leaves the game, all objects (see rule 109) owned by that player leave the game and any effects which give that player control of any objects or players end. Then, if that player controlled any objects on the stack not represented by cards, those objects cease to exist. Then, if there are any objects still controlled by that player, those objects are exiled. This is not a state-based action. It happens as soon as the player leaves the game. If the player who left the game had priority at the time he or she left, priority passes to the next player in turn order whos still in the game.
It depends on how that player controlled the cards.
If a player controls a permanent he or she doesn't own because a control-changing effect gave him or her control of it, that control-changing effect ends, and the permanent returns to the control of the player who previously controlled it.
If a player controls a permanent he or she doesn't own because an effect caused him or her to put it onto the battlefield, that permanent is exiled.
If a player controls a card on the stack (a spell) he or she doesn't own because of a control-changing effect, that control-changing effect ends, and the spell returns to the control of the player who previously controlled it.
If a player controls a spell he or she doesn't own because an effect caused him or her to cast it, that spell is exiled.
February 2, 2013 5:09 a.m.
So if I understand this, and to help takami...
A. You have a Vexing Devil on the field, an opponent uses Soul Ransom to control it. When that player leaves the game, Vexing Devil returns to your control.
B. Your opponent uses Nightveil Specter s ability to cast a Fog Bank that you own. When that player leaves the game, Fog Bank is exiled.
C. Your opponent uses Nightveil Specter s ability to cast Mind Sculpt , but while the cast card is still on the stack, the opponent leaves the game. Mind Sculpt is exiled.
Is that roughly correct?
February 2, 2013 5:35 a.m.
Epochalyptik says... #5
Yes. Basically, the card is returned if the control effect was temporary or connected to a permanent that left the game with the player. The card is exiled if there was no control-changing effect that put it under the exiting player's control.
February 2, 2013 5:51 a.m.
Cool, that will help me with both Nightveil Specter and Soul Ransom. Hopefully it helped takami too!
Denial048 says... #1
You will recieve control of the permanent again. There is a rule relating to it, but I am using my mobile, so I won't search for it, but someone like Epochalyptik might.
February 2, 2013 4:45 a.m.