How do auras that enter the battlefield with Show and Tell work?

Asked by ThiagoMaia 13 years ago

If my opponent plays show and tell and chooses to put down [Emrakul, the Aeons Torn]] can I put down an Arrest on his creature?

Miasma says... Accepted answer #1

Since the effect of Show and Tell places both of the permanents on the battlefield at the same time, the Arrest would only be able to enchant a creature on the battlefield at the time it comes into play. It may be a little tricky to understand what I'm saying, but since the Emrakul, the Aeons Torn comes into play at the exact same time as the Arrest , the Arrest won't recognize the Emrakul, because it isn't on the battlefield, as the Arrest is entering.

IE: the emrakul can't get on the battlefield first, neither can the arrest. They don't "see" each other till they are both effectively on the battlefield.

I don't know the actual ruling on this, but my somewhat advanced understanding of the game allows me to believe this is how it works. If someone could post this ruling from the Wizards guide, it would be appreciated.

BTW: The Arrest can enchant another creature that's already on the battlefield though.

December 15, 2011 9:04 a.m.

dude1818 says... #2

The closest ruling I could find was that all cards are put onto the battlefield simultaneously, therefore you can't enchant a creature put onto the battlefield this way. However, if there was already an Emrakul on the battlefield, since you don't cast Arrest , Emrakul's pro-colored spells doesn't apply.

December 15, 2011 9:37 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #3

As the following rule states, you choose what the aura will enchant as it enters the battlefield, which means you have to choose before it's actually on the battlefield. Since Arrest and Emrakul are entering the battlefield at the same time, that means Emrakul isn't on the battlefield yet at the time you have to choose an object for Arrest.

303.4f If an Aura is entering the battlefield under a player's control by any means other than by resolving as an Aura spell, and the effect putting it onto the battlefield doesn't specify the object or player the Aura will enchant, that player chooses what it will enchant as the Aura enters the battlefield. The player must choose a legal object or player according to the Aura's enchant ability and any other applicable effects.

December 15, 2011 9:48 a.m.

mozerdozer says... #4

In case it's not clear by the above rule, by 'choosing' the game means 'does NOT target'.

December 15, 2011 10:41 a.m.

mozerdozer says... #5

In case it's not clear by the above rule, by 'choosing' the game means 'does NOT target'.

December 15, 2011 10:41 a.m.

Arachnarchist says... #6

However, I believe you could use something like an Oblivion Ring or Journey to Nowhere since those must enter the battlefield before it activates, and by that time Emrakul would be on the field.

December 15, 2011 1:54 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #7

Yes, this conversation doesn't apply to those cards because they aren't auras.

December 15, 2011 3:54 p.m.

This discussion has been closed