Help with Awakening / Prophet of Kruphix / Murkfiend Liege ruling...

Asked by Urzas_Lawnmower 11 years ago

So, as I have just recently returned (I started in Tempest, left in Nemesis, so I've missed about 45 or so expansions) I need a ruling on some cards I'm debating adding to my old Tradewind Rider + Awakening deck.

1) Although I know multiple instances of the same card are meaningless, if one has a copy of Prophet of Kruphix out and a copy of Murkfiend Liege out, do they both enter the stack at different times allowing for your creatures to untap twice during an opponents turn, or is it still once?

2) Does having either a Prophet of Kruphix or a Murkfiend Liege out alongside Awakening give you multiple untap steps during an opponents turn? The older card Awakening lists upkeep phase, while the two newer cards list untap phase. This I assume to be true.

3) If you happened to have out a Prophet of Kruphix a Murkfiend Liege and an Awakening out in the same time, would that give your creatures three untap steps and your lands two during another opponents turn?

I'm a casual player (and an Old Fogey , and my friends and I typically play what is now Legacy/Vintage but I am curious on a ruling on this.

NobodyPicksBulbasaur says... Accepted answer #1

Prophet of Kruphix and Murkfiend Liege don't create additional untap steps. You simply get to untap your stuff as if it was also your own untap step. Neither ability has a trigger. They simply grant you something that you get to do. Having both on the field is redundant.

Awakening , on the other hand, has a triggered ability. It will trigger once per instance of Awakening on the battlefield, and all creatures and lands will untap every time one of those triggers resolves.

If you have at least one copy of Prophet of Kruphix and/or Murkfiend Liege , along with at least one copy of Awakening on the field at the start of your opponent's turn, the following things will happen in order:

1: You both untap all creatures and lands you control due to the static effect of Prophet of Kruphix /Murkfiend Liege .

2: Your opponent enters his/her upkeep phase. The ability of each of your Awakening is put on the stack.

3: You have a chance to tap all of your creatures and/or lands while the trigger is on the stack, provided you have a relevant way to do so.

4: The trigger of Awakening resolves, untapping your creatures and lands.

5: Repeat steps 3 and 4 for each instance of Awakening triggering.

6: Your opponent's upkeep ends. Your mana pool empties of all unspent mana, and your opponent moves to the draw step.

7: ...Profit?

May 25, 2014 8:15 a.m.

Matsi883 says... #2

Epochalyptik will move this to BE.

May 25, 2014 8:31 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

First, don't post the same thread to multiple forums.

Second, rules questions belong in the Q&A, which is linked in the header bar. I can't convert this to a question thread, so I'm going to move it to BE.

May 25, 2014 10:15 a.m.

GoofyFoot says... #4

If should be mentioned that any mana not spent during he upkeep this way dissappears and the end of the upkeep phase

May 25, 2014 4:19 p.m.

Holy $hitb@lls batman... I just now realized that Awakening is a triggered effect. NobodyPicksBulbasaur thank you very much for the help, it is greatly appreciated. I kinda figured the first part, but wasn't sure. I give you a +1 sir :D

Epochalyptik sorry bud. But thank you kindly for your input, it will be used wisely.

May 26, 2014 4:55 a.m.

This discussion has been closed