Gaining control of creatures
Asked by br2win 14 years ago
Mind Control Act of Treason Mark of Mutiny Slave of Bolas
If I play one of the above spells on a creature, do equipments/auras come with it? Here are some examples.
Lets just say some person have a Elite Vanguard enchanted with a Hyena Umbra and you play act of treason/mind control, does the hyena umbra stay with the creature?
Now if that Elite Vanguard has Basilisk Collar on it, does that come with it also?
Or do they "fall off"?
metalmagic says... Accepted answer #2
You do not gain control of any equipment or Auras attached to the creature, but they do remain on it. If you gain control of it indefinitely with Mind Control or something similar, they can choose to equip their equipment to a different creature, if they control one.
Rule verification:
303.4e
An Auras controller is separate from the enchanted objects controller or the enchantedplayer; the two need not be the same. If an Aura enchants an object, changing control of theobject doesnt change control of the Aura, and vice versa. Only the Auras controller canactivate its abilities. However, if the Aura grants an ability to the enchanted object (with gainsor has), the enchanted objects controller is the only one who can activate that ability.
May 4, 2011 4:20 a.m.
metalmagic says... #3
Here is the ruling for Equipment.
301.5d
An Equipments controller is separate from the equipped creatures controller; the two neednot be the same. Changing control of the creature doesnt change control of the Equipment, andvice versa. Only the Equipments controller can activate its abilities. However, if the Equipmentgrants an ability to the equipped creature (with gains or has), the equipped creaturescontroller is the only one who can activate that ability.
May 4, 2011 4:23 a.m.
metalmagic says... #4
And by that way, I don't know why after pasting the rules it took out apostrophes and bunched some words together, but whatever. You get the idea lol.
May 4, 2011 4:25 a.m.
To sum up metalmagic:
You do not gain control of equipment and enchantments, but they do remain attached to the creature.
May 4, 2011 8:50 a.m.
metalmagic says... #7
Thanks for the summary haha. I guess I may have been slightly vague.
br2win says... #1
The reason being for this question was because of this post. I might be misreading it, and not sure of it, but they don't, I am just looking for verification.
http://www.wizards.com/Magic/Magazine/Article.aspx?x=mtg/daily/arcana/703
Scrool down to Act of Aggression and it will say something below the card.
May 4, 2011 3:42 a.m.