Does this Thraximundar/Eternal Thirst combo work?
Asked by Redhero40 10 years ago
Scenario: (this is all one turn by the way)
Skip to step SIX to get to the question
2 swamps
tap one to use dark ritual (now I have 4 total mana)
Then use one mana to cast Entomb (put Thrax in my gave)
Use another mana to cast Reanimate (put Thrax on my field for his total mana cost to my life)(Thrax's converted mana cost is 7, so minus 7 life)
use last two mana to enchant Thrax with "Eternal Thirst" (Gives enchanted creature "life link" and anytime an opponent's creature dies the enchanted creature gains +1/+1)
(This is where the combo comes into question)
Thraximundar has haste so I attack this turn
my opponent has one (or more) creatures
my opponent must sacrifice a creature due to Thraximundar's ability (creature does not get the chance to block)
Thraximundar gains +1/+1 anytime a creature is sacrificed
(This is during the attack phase so no damage has been dealt yet?)
He gains +1/+1 and is now a 7/7
So it makes sense that at this time he gains another +1/+1 because of Eternal Thirst, right?
(Because a sacrifice also counts as a death, if I'm not mistaken)
Turning him into an 8/8 with Life Link.
Then I deal damage to targeted player.
Does this Work? A friend of mine was questioning this combo so I just want to be sure.
filledelanuit says... Accepted answer #2
Please link all cards in your question. Thraximundar Eternal Thirst
I wouldn't call it a combo per see but it does work that way. The term dies in magic means goes from the battlefield to the graveyard. This can be from combat, Vindicate, the legend rule or sacrifice. You are also correct that during the declare attackers step you haven't done any damage yet. The way it would work starting with Thraximundar is:
You attack and Thraximundar triggers making your opponent sac a creature and giving Thraximundar a +1/+1 counter.
Eternal Thirst triggers from your opponent sacing a creature. It resolves putting another +1/+1 counter on Thraximundar.
This is all during the declare attackers step. Thraximundar is a 8/8. After that your opponent can declare blockers just like a normal combat phase.
Epochalyptik says... #1
Link all cards in your question.
Thraximundar
Dark Ritual
Entomb
Reanimate
Eternal Thirst
Also, when asking a question, leave out irrelevant information so as not to confuse people. The entire bit about Dark Ritual into Entomb and Reanimate is not relevant. All we need to know is that Thraximundar is enchanted with Eternal Thirst.
This isn't really a combo. It's just the cards doing what they say. When Thraximundar attacks, its second ability triggers. This is during the declare attackers step. When the ability resolves, the defending player will sacrifice a creature. This will cause Thraximundar's third ability and the second ability granted by Eternal Thirst to trigger. You put them onto the stack in the order of your choosing, but the end result is the same. Each ability puts a +1/+1 counter on Thraximundar. You'll end up with an 8/8 lifelink haste going into the declare blockers step.
January 10, 2015 6:11 p.m.