Does Summoning sickness Effects the Transform ability of [Bloodline Keeper]?
Asked by pracel 12 years ago
Brother and I got into an argument regarding [Bloodline Keeper] being able to transform just as he was casted and met the required 5 vamps in play. He said it still cannot because of summoning sickness.
As Kirtanian said, Bloodline Keeper Flip 's transform ability doens't have the tap symbol in its cost. An exmaple of a vampire that can't transform the turn it comes into play (or under your control) would be Chosen of Markov Flip , which does have the tap symbol.
Similarly, cards that tell you to "tap an untapped [creature] you control" to do an effect are usable despite summoning sickness, again because it doesn't use the tap or untap symbol itself. Azami, Lady of Scrolls is an example. Because her ability doesn't actually use the tap symbol, you can actually tap even Azami herself the turn she comes into play to draw a card.
April 12, 2013 12:42 p.m.
Thank you guys for the clarifications and sorry for the formatting of the title and the cards.
Kirtanian says... Accepted answer #1
No, "summoning sickness" does not effect his transform ability.
302.6. A creatures activated ability with the tap symbol or the untap symbol in its activation cost cant be activated unless the creature has been under its controllers control continuously since his or her most recent turn began. A creature cant attack unless it has been under its controllers control continuously since his or her most recent turn began. This rule is informally called the summoning sickness rule.
Since his transform ability does not have the tap or untap ability in it's cost and he is not attacking, you can use it. You cannot, however, make a vampire token with his other ability.
April 12, 2013 10:06 a.m.