Does Braids, Conjurer Adept "cast" the permanent?
Asked by Dreno33 12 years ago
[[Braids, Conjurer Adept]
I want to know if her ability is considered to be casting the permanent or not.
Basically, I'm thinking about putting an EDH deck together with as a general but many cards wouldn't be worth adding if she does cast them. For instance: Artisan of Kozilek , Kozilek, Butcher of Truth , Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre , and Tidespout Tyrant make me uncertain if their 1st ability will work with her placing something onto the field..
vampirelazarus says... #2
So no, using her effect does not trigger effects that say "when you cast ...."
May 14, 2013 3:07 a.m.
My previous comment:
Braids, Conjurer Adept does, as the card says, put the card onto the battlefield.
To cast a spell is to take it from where it is (usually the hand), put it on the stack, and pay its costs, so that it will eventually resolve and have its effect.
The cost of the spell can be nothing, mind you, but you still have to cast it, rather than put it onto the battlefield, for those abilities to trigger.
TL;DR It doesn't count.
May 14, 2013 3:12 a.m.
Reallifenotbotatall says... #4
Most rules problems can simply solved by readying the card carefully and looking over specific wording. The card Braids, Conjurer Adept does not use the word cast. a card that does use the wording "Cast without paying its mana cost" would count as casting. However, Braids, Conjurer Adept does not use the wording "cast" it simply places it onto the battlefield.
May 14, 2013 8:40 a.m.
Rhadamanthus says... #5
To be fair, in the case of Braids, Conjurer Adept it isn't as simple as just reading the card because it was printed during the period of time when the game still used the old overloaded "play" / "put into play" vocabulary. The reason "cast" and "battlefield" were introduced in the M10 rules update was because the old way caused too much confusion over what was actually going on.
Dallie says... Accepted answer #1
Braids, Conjurer Adept does, as the card says, put the card onto the battlefield.
To cast a spell is to take it from where it is (usually the hand), put it on the stack, and pay its costs, so that it will eventually resolve and have its effect.
The cost of the spell can be nothing, mind you, but you still have to cast it, rather than put it onto the battlefield, for those abilities to trigger.
May 14, 2013 2:57 a.m.