Coalition Victory - possible permutations
Asked by Sudain 14 years ago
For the land condition, does it have to be 1 land that is all types via prismatic omen or something else, a combination of the basic types of land (forest, swamp, etc..), or a combination of land that produce the 5 types?
For the creature condition, does it have to be 1 creature with all types like Fusion Elemental or does a combination of creatures and colors take effect? So a Wall of Denial & Sprouting Thrinax would qualify?
Hopeing to use this as an alternate win condition on a deck that's already multicolored up the wazoo. :)
Crumbling Necropolis & Jungle Shrine
In case the 3rd case of the land combinations is vague I'm thinking of the above type examples.
Here is the ruling I found off wizard's website but it's still pretty vauge to me. :/
-=-=-When Coalition Victory resolves, it checks for the five basic land types (Plains, Island, Swamp, Mountain, Forest) and the five colors (white, blue, black, red, green). If a single land has multiple types and/or a single creature is multiple colors, it will count all those types and/or colors.-=-=-
April 26, 2011 9:55 p.m.
Epochalyptik says... #3
You must have lands that cumulatively have all five basic land subtypes: Plains, Island, Swamp, Mountain, and Forest. Therefore, Crumbling Necropolis would not count toward the land requirements (Steam Vents would, however).
The same with the creatures. Your creatures must cumulatively be all five colors, no matter how many you have. Therefore, a single Fusion Elemental would satisfy the creature requirements.
9/25/2006: When Coalition Victory resolves, it checks for the five basic land types (Plains, Island, Swamp, Mountain, Forest) and the five colors (white, blue, black, red, green). If a single land has multiple types and/or a single creature is multiple colors, it will count all those types and/or colors.
April 26, 2011 10 p.m.
Humm... Alright I think I understand the land issue. It's not what types of mana it can produce, but what type of land it is. Prismatic Omen is the only card I saw that gives basic types (other than the basic lands them selfs) so it seems I should go back and look again.
For the creatures I understand the fusion elemental would qualify. but you are saying the Wall of Denial & Sprouting Thrinax would qualify as well, correct?
April 26, 2011 10:05 p.m.
epicmanmcman says... #5
Yes, wall of denial and sprouting thrinax would work, as would fusion elemental. However, I'm not sure but I dont think that Steam Vents would work because it isn't basic, am I right or wrong?
April 26, 2011 10:43 p.m.
Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #6
Yes. When Coalition Victory resolves, it checks for the 5 colors in the creatures and gets RBG from Sprouting Thrinax and WU from Wall of Denial . That fulfills the creature part of the conditional.
If the Thrinax was destroyed prior to Coalition resolving, then the condition would not be met because it would see G from the tokens and WU from the Wall. It would be missing RB.
April 26, 2011 10:44 p.m.
SandyDufresne says... #7
I believe the Steam Vents would work because Coalition Victory says "if you control a land of each basic land type" and not "if you control each basic land."
April 26, 2011 10:57 p.m.
Epochalyptik says... #8
That's what I said.
The basic land subtypes must appear on your lands. It can be one land with all subtypes (i.e. Forest + Prismatic Omen ), a few lands with multiple subtypes (i.e. Steam Vents + Godless Shrine + Forest), or five lands with one subtype each.
April 26, 2011 11:05 p.m.
Awesome, thank you guys. :D As always a wonderful resource.
iLIKEelvs says... #1
I think that they would count as wins based on the wording of Coalition Victory
April 26, 2011 9:50 p.m.