Cipher special interactions

Asked by mykei93 5 years ago

Three questions about cipher cards e.g. Hands of Binding

  1. Can you cipher onto an animated permanent such as Mutavault or Dimir Keyrune ?

  2. Does a cipher card copy trigger Guttersnipe and Young Pyromancer ?

  3. Does a cipher card copy count toward a card with Storm e,g Brain Freeze ?

Absinthman says... Accepted answer #1

  1. Yes. The cipher card will remain encoded on that permanent even when it ceases to be a creature and will trigger the next time you animate it and deal combat damage with it.

  2. Yes. If you look at the reminder text for cipher closely, you see that you are actually casting the copy, so everything that triggers when you cast a spell will trigger when you cast the ciphered copy.

  3. Yes. Same as above, you are casting the copy as a spell, so it counts towards the number of spells cast this turn.
July 27, 2014 12:10 p.m.

pskinn01 says... #2

for answer 1 here is the ruling.

702.98c The card with cipher remains encoded on the chosen creature as long as the card with cipher remains exiled and the creature remains on the battlefield. The card remains encoded on that object even if it changes controller or stops being a creature, as long as it remains on the battlefield.

July 27, 2014 2:05 p.m.

This discussion has been closed