Casting after you discard in your cleanup step

Asked by Ozzywozywoz 5 years ago

Hello,

Looking for the absolute last time you can cast an instant.

I.E Can you cast and instant after you discard a card in your cleanup step?

Reason:

Im playing Manaless Dredge and opponent drops Deathrite Shaman on turn 1. During my first turn I draw. I have a couple of Dredgers Id like to discard, and a Contagion which I can use.

Can I discard a dredger in my cleanup step, and either ‘in-response to my discard’ or cast Contagion before he gets a chance to use Deathrite Shaman ? Leaving me with a dredger still in my graveyard.

If not, I will either risk my opponent getting rid of my dredge till I find a Street Wraith / Phantasmagorian , or take 2 Time Walk ’s by using Contagion , till I can discard again.

Many thanks Regards Ozzy

Draugo says... Accepted answer #1

The normal last time you can cast an instant is when you have the priority for the last time in end step. You can't cast spells in cleanup although if discard in cleanup causes triggers then those triggers are put on stack and priorities are once again granted after which a new cleanup happens until the game can move on to the next turn.
That in mind I don't really see a nice way around turn 1 Deathrite Shaman with Contagion .

September 22, 2014 7:47 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #2

Players don't normally get priority in the cleanup step. If, however, some event in the cleanup step causes an ability to trigger, then that trigger is put onto the stack and the active player gets priority. In your situation, there's no opportunity for you to get priority in the cleanup step.

September 22, 2014 9:48 a.m.

This discussion has been closed