Can you respond to Zur's ability after the enchantment is found but before it enters the battlefield?
Asked by Rustria 14 years ago
My opponent tried to respond to my Zur the Enchanter 's ability after I tutored up a Diplomatic Immunity . So he would kill the Zur before Diplomatic Immunity hit the battlefield. I'm Pretty sure that isn't possible and I just wanted to check.
MagnorCriol says... #2
AegairEtapa is correct. Once a spell or ability begins resolving, you can't interrupt it.
As Aegair said, your opponent could, say, cast Go for the Throat in response to Zur's trigger going on the stack. Go for the Throat would resolve first and kill the creature he think you'll want to enchant, but then Zur's ability resolves and you can search for whatever you want to find. But they certainly can't wait to see what enchantment you pull out and do something in response before you put it into play.
Your opponent could use Stifle to counter Zur's ability. But that means none of it happens - no searching and no putting it on the field.
February 21, 2011 3:41 p.m.
Priority only occurs between abilities. Since the declaration of the enchant and attaching it are both during one ability, neither player gets an opportunity to cast spells.
February 21, 2011 3:42 p.m.
Actually if you attack with Zur the Enchanter then triggered ability will go to the stack just as any spell or ability so if someone want's to respond by killing your Zur then your Zur will go but the ability still will resolve and you'll get the Enchantment attached to whatever you want.
According to the rules
603.3: Once an ability has triggered, its controller puts it on the stack as an object thats not a card the next time a player would receive priority. See rule 116, Timing and Priority. The ability becomes the topmost object on the stack. It has the text of the ability that created it, and no other characteristics. It remains on the stack until its countered, it resolves, a rule causes it to be removed from the stack, or an effect moves it elsewhere.
February 21, 2011 3:51 p.m.
Actually if you attack with Zur the Enchanter then triggered ability will go to the stack just as any spell or ability so if someone want's to respond by killing your Zur then your Zur will go but the ability still will resolve and you'll get the Enchantment attached to whatever you want.
According to the rules
603.3: Once an ability has triggered, its controller puts it on the stack as an object thats not a card the next time a player would receive priority. See rule 116, Timing and Priority. The ability becomes the topmost object on the stack. It has the text of the ability that created it, and no other characteristics. It remains on the stack until its countered, it resolves, a rule causes it to be removed from the stack, or an effect moves it elsewhere.
February 21, 2011 3:51 p.m.
Actually if you attack with Zur the Enchanter then triggered ability will go to the stack just as any spell or ability so if someone want's to respond by killing your Zur then your Zur will go but the ability still will resolve and you'll get the Enchantment attached to whatever you want.
According to the rules
603.3: Once an ability has triggered, its controller puts it on the stack as an object thats not a card the next time a player would receive priority. See rule 116, Timing and Priority. The ability becomes the topmost object on the stack. It has the text of the ability that created it, and no other characteristics. It remains on the stack until its countered, it resolves, a rule causes it to be removed from the stack, or an effect moves it elsewhere.
February 21, 2011 3:51 p.m.
Actually if you attack with Zur the Enchanter then triggered ability will go to the stack just as any spell or ability so if someone want's to respond by killing your Zur then your Zur will go but the ability still will resolve and you'll get the Enchantment attached to whatever you want.
According to the rules
603.3: Once an ability has triggered, its controller puts it on the stack as an object thats not a card the next time a player would receive priority. See rule 116, Timing and Priority. The ability becomes the topmost object on the stack. It has the text of the ability that created it, and no other characteristics. It remains on the stack until its countered, it resolves, a rule causes it to be removed from the stack, or an effect moves it elsewhere.
February 21, 2011 3:51 p.m.
Geez my net connection is terrible sorry for the 4 posts
February 21, 2011 3:55 p.m.
np. My point was just that you can't do anything between when the player chooses the enchantment and equips it.
If you wanted to hit zur with a Doom Blade , you'd have to do it before then, e.g after attacks are declared, or ever better- sometime before they declare the attack.
AegairEtapa says... Accepted answer #1
Your opponent can respond to the ability triggering and kill your creature, but you will still get the enchantment. But once the ability begins resolving the enchantment will enter the battlefield before your opponent can respond.
February 21, 2011 3:32 p.m.