Can I use K Command to counter a Spell?

Asked by SpliceIntoCantrip 3 years ago

My friend and I were dueling, and this issue came up. My friend casted Lightning Helix , and in response I used Kolaghan's Command and chose to deal 2 damage to him and return a creature card from my graveyard to my hand, I return Snapcaster Mage to my hand and cast it, and then casted Countersquall since it was in my graveyard. Would Lightning Helix be countered or how would it already be casted? I do know about the stack in general, just not the very technical details about matters such as this.

Neotrup says... Accepted answer #1

Countersquall can counter Lightning Helix as it's a noncreature spell, so the play works. Lightning Helix was of course already cast, as you can only counter spells that have been cast. It will not resolve however, as countering a spell removes it from the stack so that it cannot resolve.

April 25, 2018 4:59 p.m.

buckeyetron says... #2

"cast" not "casted"

April 27, 2018 5:31 p.m.

Thank you for correcting me, I'll remember that.

April 27, 2018 5:39 p.m.

Please login to comment