can i have dupe creatures and spells in commander

Asked by rog0325 1 month ago

this seems like a dumb question, im relatively new and every commander deck i see only has one of each card besides basic lands so I just wanted to confirm

rog0325 says... Accepted answer #1

ignore this post im dumb and shouldve checked the rules page first

May 3, 2021 7:43 p.m.

Gidgetimer says... #2

Hey buddy, it isn't a stupid question. This forum is the place to ask any rules question, from the most simple to the most complex. Anyone who consistently answers questions does so non-judgmentally. Occasionally we get bad apples who want to act superior, but we chase them off.

It looks like you already found the answer to your question on your own, but for people who may have the same question and find this thread on a search...

Commander is a singleton format. This means that aside from basic lands and a few cards with rules text allowing you to have a different number ( Relentless Rats , Seven Dwarves et al.) you can only have one copy of a card in a commander deck.

May 3, 2021 7:55 p.m.

Neotrup says... #3

It's also worth noting that the restriction is by card name, you can have duplicate effects if they have different names, such as Final Death and Final Reward . The restriction also only applies to deck construction, so you can have multiple copies of a creature in play by using cards like Clone .

May 3, 2021 11:10 p.m.

Please login to comment