Blood Moon and Dark Depths

Asked by RussischerZar 6 years ago

Say someone has a Blood Moon in play and I play a Dark Depths , am I correct that it enters play untapped as a Mountain and without counters?

Then, if the Blood Moon gets removed, does the last ability on Dark Depths trigger or will it just lie there?

hyperlocke says... #1

Dark Depths has a static ability that changes how it enters the battlefield. The counters are placed on it before it enters, so to say. It will enter as an untapped mountain with 10 ice counters.

If there are no counters on it and Blood Moon leaves the battlefield, it gains all abilities printed on the card. The game realizes that it has no counters and its last ability will trigger.

July 11, 2014 7:15 a.m.

Drilnoth says... Accepted answer #2

A brief note: Dark Depths enters untapped by default. Blood Moon won't change that.

From the Gatherer rulings for Blood Moon:

If a nonbasic land has an ability that causes it to enter the battlefield tapped, that ability will still function. For example, if Blood Crypt is entering the battlefield, its controller may pay 2 life to have it enter untapped. Regardless of this choice, it will be only a Mountain and not a Swamp.

"this enters the battlefield tapped" is a static ability which modifies how the permanent enters the battlefield, just like Dark Depths 's counter-ability (it "enters the battlefield with..."). It still enters with the 10 ice counters.

As further evidence, I dug up this quote from a judge from SCG. Don't know the original source, just found it quoted on a forum (it relates to Celestial Dawn rather than Blood Moon , but the meaning is the same):

That does not work as you described. Dark Depths has a static ability that creates a replacement effect that is applied to Dark Depths as it comes into play. This replacement effect is applied as Dark Depths enters play before the effect from Celestial Dansic is applied to it. So it will come into play with these ice counters, even though it comes into play as a Plains.

July 11, 2014 7:20 a.m.

RussischerZar says... #3

Thanks, that cleared it up :)

July 11, 2014 8:01 a.m.

This discussion has been closed