Activation cost of an ability vs Tragic Slip

Asked by thewiredmind 13 years ago

Scenario: It is the end of my opponent's turn. Something died this turn. I have priority and I used the ability on my Skirsdag High Priest that requires me to tap him and tap two untapped creatures that I control to put a 5/5 flyer into play. After I cast this, my opponent responded with a Tragic Slip to kill one of my tapped creatures and then claiming my spell wouldn't resolve because one of my creature was now an invalid target to tap. However, I told him he was wrong because tapping the creatures was the activation cost of the spell and he couldn't interrupt that part of the casting sequence. He then started grumbling about stacks and priority.

I read rule 601.2e and I am pretty sure I am correct on this one unless I am missing something. Can someone please back me up.

Also, can someone confirm that even if he cast tragic slip first I could have responded to that with tapping those creatures and gotten my flyer out. I am pretty sure in that scenario there isn't a way with tragic slip to prevent me getting my flyer out.

Thanks.

KrazyCaley says... #1

February 18, 2012 2:58 a.m.

KrazyCaley says... Accepted answer #2

You are absolutely correct in all respects, and your rule interpretation is flawless. BECAUSE you have priority, you can activate abilities, and that means you can pay costs. That means you can tap the creature before he can do anything. If the creature had to be alive and tapped still when the ability RESOLVED, that would be another question, but it does not; it is just a cost.

And yes, you could respond in the manner you describe were he to have priority first.

February 18, 2012 3 a.m.

thewiredmind says... #3

Thank you for backing me up.

Another follow up. I was trying to think of a card that could somehow interrupt the ability from scenario above from resolving and can't. I am sure there is something out there. Any examples?

Also, do you know where I can find a condensed list of the sequence to cast a spell / ability and where priority can switch? Example:

  1. Name spell
  2. Pay Cost
  3. Pick a target
  4. ==> Priority Changes for response
  5. Resolve

thanks

February 18, 2012 10:24 a.m.

bcurran says... #4

Well there is only StifleMTG Card: Stifle (and similar spells) that actually stops the ability from resolving. (Also Time StopMTG Card: Time Stop).

A simplified order of the process of casting a spell is :

1) Put card on the stack

2) Choose modes and special options like kicker or alternate casting costs

3) Choose targets

4) Activate mana abilities

5) Pay the cost

After this point, your opponent gains priority to respond to the spell. The full order is given by Rule 601.2.

February 18, 2012 4:37 p.m.

KrazyCaley says... #5

bcurran gives a couple of good ways to stop the ability - you can counter the ability, a la StifleMTG Card: Stifle or VoidslimeMTG Card: Voidslime or something, or you can end the turn artificially while the ability is on the stack, as with Sundial of the InfiniteMTG Card: Sundial of the Infinite or Time StopMTG Card: Time Stop.

February 18, 2012 8:09 p.m.

This discussion has been closed