Could someone please explain to me how Wayta, Trainer Prodigy works?
Posted on Feb. 12, 2024, 2:14 a.m. by TypicalTimmy
So I don't understand Wayta, Trainer Prodigy's wording. She says that for , you can have target creature you control fight another target creature. That's great and all, but then it says the ability costs less to activate if it targets two creatures I control?
I'm having a seriously hard time grasping this.
So I pay and tap her to put the ability on the stack. Then, SOMEHOW despite it ONLY TARGETING ONE CREATURE I target... A SECOND CREATURE?? And now that I have ALREADY PAID FOR IT, it costs less??
So, in order for this to work, I'd have to pay AND THEN ACTIVATE IT targeting two creatures.
But what happens if after it goes on the stack AT A REDUCED COST, I can only target one creature?!?
This card literally makes no sense to me.
Please help :,3
This ability will always target two creatures: the first one has to be one you control, and the second one can be any creature. If the second one is one an opponent controls, this ability costs the full to activate. If the second creature is one you control, the ability costs the reduced to activate. All happens as part of you declaring the activation, and there is no time ordering component to it.
February 12, 2024 2:43 a.m.
Aside from mechanics, the idea of it is that she's setting up fights, and it's much easier to set up a fight between two creatures when you are controlling them both. As for why you would want two of your own creatures to fight each other, dinosaur enrage effects :)
February 12, 2024 2:46 a.m.
Just to build off of ’s correct answer, you seem to be making an error in his abilities are paid for. In casual play, we often tap the mana, say we are actively sting the ability, and then choose targets - but this is not actually how the rules work.
Activated abilities generally follow the rules for casting a spell (R. 602.2b; the only exception is there is an additional first step for activated abilities of cards in hidden zones). To cast a spell, you follow these steps:
- Put it on the stack;
- Choose any modes, non-target choices, values for X, additional costs, or alternate costs.
- Determine targets.
- Define distribution between targets of relevant.
- Calculate total cost.
- Activate mana abilities.
- Pay cost.
Notice the emphasized part above - you pick your targets (the two creatures you are having fight) before you determine the costs to be paid. So, in step 3, of you choose one of your target creatures to fight an opponent’s target creature, when you hit step 5, the total cost will be . If, in step 3, you choose one of your target creatures to fight one of your target creatures, when you reach step 5, the total cost will be .
This works well with her second ability - you might want to have two creatures on your side damage one another. Each one will trigger twice due to her doubling effect—resulting in 4 different trigger-on-damage abilities going onto the stack.