Welcome to the comment stream... jump in!

Swebb87 on Sagas?!?? Yojimbo & Lilysplash mentor

4 weeks ago

Thanks both massively appreciated the answers. Completely makes sense about the only as a sorcery bit of text on Lilysplash. Great to know in general!!

Neotrup on Sagas?!?? Yojimbo & Lilysplash mentor

4 weeks ago

I believe something was missed here. Rhadamanthus's answer is generally correct about Sagas and Summon: Yojimbo, however don't work for Lilysplash Mentor as its activated ability specifies "Activate only as a sorcery." This means you need to wait for your main phase, the lore counter to be added, and it's ability to fully resolve before you get to use it. If you want to use it before the fourth counter is added, you'll need to activate the ability the same turn that the third counter gets added, missing out on creating the treasures. In order to get the interaction you want, you'll need an ability without the sorcery speed restriction, like that of Emiel the Blessed.

Rhadamanthus on Sagas?!?? Yojimbo & Lilysplash mentor

4 weeks ago

Yes to both.

  1. You're right, adding a lore counter to a saga is a turn-based action that happens at the start of your first main phase. If you want to want to bounce/blink it before that happens, it means you just have to do it before your draw step ends, either during your upkeep step or during your draw step.
  2. Every chapter ability is a triggered ability, so if a saga gets a lore counter that triggers its final chapter ability, you can respond to the trigger before it starts resolving. The completed saga won't be put into the graveyard until that trigger is off the stack (either because it resolved or because it fizzled or got countered)

sylvannos on Chaos Orb and Relm's Sketching

4 weeks ago

@Rhadamanthus: My bad! Marked it as answered.

Swebb87 on Sagas?!?? Yojimbo & Lilysplash mentor

4 weeks ago

Sagas will be the death of me and how I understand magic rulings. 2 questions about the same two cards interacting.

  1. Can I target the Summon: Yojimbo with the Lilysplash Mentor before adding the 4th lore counter? I know it's a turn based effect (adding the lore counter straight away after draw step and entering first main)?
  2. Can I do the above question after the 4th lore counter, thus getting the effect and then bouncing prior to Yojimbo being sacrificed

Rhadamanthus on Chaos Orb and Relm's Sketching

4 weeks ago

sylvannos: An answer to your question has been up for a while. Since there don't seem to be any more follow-ups or corrections that need to be made, I marked one of them as the "Accepted answer" so this topic can move out of the list of unanswered questions. In the future, remember to use the "Mark as Answer" button on the response that you feel is the most helpful answer to your question, or respond with a follow-up if needed.

Rhadamanthus on Volrath Shapstealer and Summon:Primal Odin

4 weeks ago

It will keep the ability, since there's no specific duration given ("until end of turn" etc.) and it's a separate effect from the effect that turned Volrath into a copy of Odin. If Volrath turns into a copy of something else, it will also still have that ability, since Volrath's copy effect is applied in Layer 1 but ability adding/removing effects are applied in Layer 6.

Rhadamanthus on Volrath Shapestealer and Enduring Glimmers

4 weeks ago

Timestamp matters for effects that apply in the same layer but these effects apply in different layers.

To elaborate a bit on my first explanation: Volrath will just be Volrath when it returns to the battlefield, but the effect from Enduring Vitality's ability that brought it back makes it a non-creature enchantment. This type-changing effect applies in Layer 4. If you activate Volrath's second ability to turn it into a copy of something, that copy effect will apply in Layer 1. However, the type-changing effect mentioned earlier still exists and will still be applied in Layer 4, ultimately making it a non-creature. If you were able to use some other effect to turn it into a creature, then it would be a 7/5 copy of whatever it was, since that's the P/T established by Volrath's copy effect.