Where is a card physically while it's on the stack?

Asked by legendofa 2 years ago

Is the stack a physical zone that cards enter? Let's say I have a Rakshasa Vizier in play, and I flashback cast Deep Analysis . Is the Deep Analysis card exiled directly from the graveyard, or is there an intermediate place it goes?

It is a zone. But it's not represented by anything tangible. The stack is just there. Think of it as a zone floating above the battlefield.

My friends and I just put the cards we cast and abilities and such in the middle of the table to signify the stack.

December 4, 2016 3:31 a.m.

Neotrup says... Accepted answer #2

The Stack is well defined by the game, but poorly defined physically. This might be because Abilities aren't physically represented but use the stack the same way spells do. Often people will play spells to the center of the table or hold them in hand revealed. If they target they may put them on, or touch them to, the permanent they're targeting. Ultimately it doesn't matter how you choose to represent the stack, as long as everyone playing knows when a spell is being cast. As far as the game is concerned, when you flash back Deep Analysis you move it from the graveyard to the stack, then pay 3 life and . Then players (starting with you) get priority with it still on the stack. If nobody responds, it resolves, you draw 2 cards then Deep Analysis is moved from the stack to exile and the active player gets priority again. Relatedly, though you will have to have a physical location for both your graveyard and exile, the game doesn't require them to be specific places, some players even use the same location for both, turning cards sideways to represent them being exiled. This is allowed under game rules, but not under certain tournament rules.

December 4, 2016 1:36 p.m.

sonnet666 says... #3

Technically, no zones in MTG have defined physical locations. You can put your library on your head and hold your hand in your mouth if you want, and as long as your opponent is clear on what is going on and doesn't have an issue with it, then it's not a problem.

The stack is a zone that spells and abilities go to after they're cast or activated. Where it's represented is up to whoever is playing the game.

December 4, 2016 7:18 p.m.

legendofa says... #4

Thanks for the answers, Raging_Squiggle, Neotrup, and sonnet666. The scenario in the example came up in a game, and we weren't sure how to resolve it. Good to know we got it right.

And sonnet666, don't give me ideas...

December 4, 2016 7:34 p.m.

Technically, you are allowed to have your battlefield anywhere within hand's reach. So you could theoretically put your battlefield right on top of your opponent's, as long as you can reach it from your seat. :P

December 4, 2016 8:45 p.m.

This discussion has been closed