What happens if I clone an animated artifact?

Asked by Kilroy54 3 years ago

Suppose I use Sydri, Galvanic Genius to animate Darksteel Forge and give it lifelink and deathtouch with her second ability. If I cast Phantasmal Image and target the animated Darksteel Forge , does the clone I have stay a 9/9? Does it keep lifelink and deathtouch?

Also, if it does just become an inanimate Darksteel Forge can I target the Phantasmal Image as just an artifact to animate it or would I have to sacrifice it because of of Phantasmal Image 's ability?

hyperlocke says... Accepted answer #1

From the Gatherer Rulings:

9/22/2011: Phantasmal Image copies exactly what was printed on the original creature and nothing more (unless that creature is copying something else or is a token; see below). It doesn't copy whether that creature is tapped or untapped, whether it has any counters on it or Auras attached to it, or any non-copy effects that have changed its power, toughness, types, color, or so on.

Your Phantasmal Image will be an inanimate "Artifact - Illusion" withDarksteel Forge' name and rules text and the additional ability "Has to be sacrificed when targetted." If you target it with Sydri, you'll have to sacrifice it.

March 9, 2016 6:03 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #2

Note also that clone-style copy abilities don't target. You choose what to copy as Phantasmal Image enters the battlefield, whereas targets for a spell or ability that requires them must be chosen during the casting process.

March 10, 2016 9:13 a.m.

This discussion has been closed