Tokens in the Graveyard

Asked by BlckGaming 13 years ago

A friend of mine says that tokens stay in the graveyard until the end of turn. I say they're there only long enough to trigger abilities like Lumberknot . Who's right?

as far as i know, they go to the graveyard; but as soon as they enter the graveyard they are instantly destroyed. so youd be right.

January 5, 2012 9:15 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #2

110.5f A token that's phased out, or that's in a zone other than the battlefield, ceases to exist. This is a state-based action; see rule 704. (Note that if a token changes zones, applicable triggered abilities will trigger before the token ceases to exist.)

The token dies, is put into a graveyard, and Lumberknot 's ability triggers. Then, the token is removed from the graveyard as a state-based action and the controller of Lumberknot's ability puts it onto the stack.

January 5, 2012 9:34 p.m.

DukeNicky says... #3

For cards like Fresh Meat and Lumberknot yes a token dying counts towards it since they do hit the grave before poofing but do not exist there for a turn, so you would be correct

Rule 110.5f A token thats phased out, or thats in a zone other than the battlefield, ceases to exist. This is a state-based action.

January 5, 2012 9:34 p.m.

Clarque says... #4

Okay so here's a follow up question to his: would tokens being destroyed activate Vengeful Dead 's ability?

January 6, 2012 1:30 p.m.

DukeNicky says... #5

If they are Zombie Tokens than yes they would trigger Vengeful Dead to trigger

January 6, 2012 1:32 p.m.

Clarque says... #6

Awesome. Thanks, Duke!

January 6, 2012 1:33 p.m.

Moose8583 says... #7

One question can you use Back from the BrinkMTG Card: Back from the Brink on a token... you cant bring tokens back from the gaveyard... but you should be able to make a copy of them right?

April 17, 2012 8:53 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #8

No. There are two problems with this case:

1: Back from the BrinkMTG Card: Back from the Brink specifies that you must target a creature card, and tokens are not cards.

2: Tokens are removed from non-battlefield zones when state-based actions check, which is before any player would receive priority to cast a spell or activate an ability.

April 17, 2012 9:24 p.m.

Moose8583 says... #9

Well that kinda sucks... Thanks for helping me though.

April 17, 2012 11:34 p.m.

ulamoguy says... #10

Okay, I've been wondering similar things, but how would Adarkar Valkyrie play with tokens. All it says is creature, and the ability can be activated at instant speed, so could you save tokens with it?

January 12, 2015 9:02 a.m.

@ulamoguy: This question was resolved three years ago. Post a new thread instead of replying to a dead one; chances are you won't get an answer on old threads.

Tokens that move to non-battlefield zones cannot change zones again, even if they would be returned to the battlefield. Additionally, Adarkar Valkyrie's ability says to "return that creature card." Tokens aren't cards, so this effect can't apply to them (although it can still target them, as being a card is not a targeting restriction).

January 12, 2015 9:50 a.m.

This discussion has been closed