Tokens and Oketra's Monument

Asked by 9-lives 10 months ago

Do tokens count as creatures? As an instance, If I use Oketra's Monument and then play Sacred Cat from the Graveyard as Embalm, would the token count as a creature spell thus triggering Oketra's Monument so that I get a 1/1 white Warrior token? And, if so, would multiple tokens generate multiple triggers of Oketra's Monument?

Raging_Squiggle says... Accepted answer #1

Embalming is an activated ability, not casting. it doesn’t interact with Oketra's Monument at all.

If, by some method you’re able to cast a copy of a creature card, it will trigger the monument, but creatures, token or not, just entering the battlefield by other means don’t trigger Oketra's Monument

November 26, 2019 2:10 p.m.

9-lives says... #2

How about if I cast Regal Caracal and it generates two cat tokens? Is that also an activated ability?

November 26, 2019 2:34 p.m.

Caerwyn says... #3

The ability on Regal Caracal is a triggered ability occurring when Caracal enters the battlefield. However, this ability does not cast the tokens, so you'll only get the Monument trigger for the Regal Caracal and not for the two tokens.

There is not a current way to cast a copy/creature token of a creature in black-bordered Magic.

November 26, 2019 3 p.m. Edited.

9-lives says... #4

Okay, thanks all of you for your help!

November 26, 2019 3:06 p.m.

Please login to comment