Silent Gravestone and graveyard targets

Asked by somsoc 2 years ago

Silent Gravestone reads:

'Cards in graveyards can't be the targets of spells or abilities.'

Just to check this card works how I think (or, unfortunately, doesn't work how I'd like):

Is this essentially hexproof for cards in the graveyard? Meaning, if spells affecting cards in the graveyard don't say 'target' it doesn't affect them at all? eg, 'return a card from your graveyard' would still work since it doesn't say 'return target card from your graveyard.'?

Caerwyn says... Accepted answer #1

Correct. Recall and Forbidden Crypt (which has received errata so it no longer targets) do not target directly, so you can use them to return cards. Likewise, cards like Exhume do not target.

April 30, 2018 2:41 p.m.

Please login to comment