Shroud and "Sacrifice a/an..." - Not target?

Asked by TehGrief 1 year ago

I have recently come across the card Hanna's Custody and really liked the concept.

However, I am unsure of the rulings.

There are many cards that are worded as "Sacrifice a/an..." rather than "Sacrifice target...", such as Time Sieve , Krark-Clan Ironworks , and of course Atog .

Do these cards abilities 'target' the artifacts that are being sacrificed, or would Hanna's Custody prevent those cards abilities from working?

TehGrief says... Accepted answer #1

Nevermind, I found the answer.

  • "114.10. Spells and abilities can affect objects and players they don’t target. In general, those objects and players aren’t chosen until the spell or ability resolves. See rule 608, “Resolving Spells and Abilities.”"

  • "114.10a Just because an object or player is being affected by a spell or ability doesn’t make that object or player a target of that spell or ability. Unless that object or player is identified by the word “target” in the text of that spell or ability, or the rule for that keyword ability, it’s not a target."

September 21, 2018 1:34 a.m.

Kogarashi says... #2

To my knowledge, the only effects that target without specifically saying "target" on the card are aura spells and equipping. The equip ability actually says "target" when reminder text is included, and aura spells (on the stack) must target, but if you get an aura onto the battlefield some other way than casting it then it doesn't target.

Other than that, unless it specifically says "target," it doesn't actually target. So you could sacrifice something with shroud or protection to such an effect as well.

September 21, 2018 8:39 a.m.

Please login to comment