Returning a card enchanted with Bolas's Clutches to its owners hands?

Asked by MJS154 7 months ago

So I came across this situation earlier this week, and was wondering if someone could help me. I cast Riddlemaster Sphinx. My opponent plays In Bolas's Clutches. They now control my Sphinx. I play Drag Under, returning Riddlemaster Sphinx to its owner's hand. When my Sphinx leaves the battlefield, the enchantment goes away, so does the Sphinx go to my hand or my opponent's? Thanks!

Caerwyn says... Accepted answer #1

Please remember to link your cards using double brackets

[[riddlemaster sphinx]]

Riddlemaster Sphinx ; In Bolas's Clutches ; Drag Under .

There is a difference between control and ownership of a card.

Control is who controls the permanent or spell on the stack; ownership is the player from whose deck the card came (or who brought the card in from outside the game, if something like Glittering Wish was used).

In this case, you own Riddlemaster Sphinx and control it. Your opponent gains control of the Sphinx using In Bolas's Clutches clutches, but they do not gain ownership of it. So, when it is returned to its owners' hand, that will always* be you regardless of whether or not you control it at the time.

(*Caveat: There exist some very old cards that allow changes in ownership to occur. These cards are not legal in any format and may actually violate local gambling laws. So, in effect, you will always be the owner of the cards in your deck.)

March 21, 2019 3:30 p.m. Edited.

MJS154 says... #2

Thank you so much! I didn't see the card link option and I was unaware of double brackets being all you need. My apologies. Thank you for your help, I completely understand now!

March 21, 2019 5:32 p.m.

Please login to comment