Question regarding instant priority interaction during combat

Asked by Eldrazi_Nugget 9 months ago

Let's say my opponent attacks me with 4 creatures, and I block with 4 creatures, one of which has Godsend equipped. I also have Leonin Shikari out. Assuming I have enough mana (or Puresteel Paladin metalcraft active), is there any way for me to equip godsend at instant speed to all my blocking creatures after the declare blockers step and exile all attacking creatures?

chosenone124 says... Accepted answer #1

There is no way. There are two times you can move Godsend around

  1. Before it triggers (beginning of declare blocks)

  2. After it triggers (in response to the trigger on the stack)

If you do it during 1, it will trigger once when the equipped creature blocks.

If you do it during 2, it's too late to trigger it anymore.

You cannot declare a blocker, move Godsend, declare a blocker, move Godsend. You must declare all blockers simultaneously.

September 8, 2017 6:55 p.m.

Note that you cannot do this at the beginning of the declare blockers step, since declaring any and all blockers is a turn-based action, and happens before any player gets priority to cast spells or activate abilities. you'd have to move it around at the end of the declare attacker's step, but Godsend would still only trigger once for the creature it will be currently attached to.

September 8, 2017 7:49 p.m.

chosenone124 says... #3

My bad Raging_Squiggle. Other than that my answer should be accurate.

September 8, 2017 8:27 p.m.

Please login to comment