Pandamonium etb damage and Bonehoard

Asked by Drew_64 2 years ago

If my opponent has Pandemonium out, and I play a Bonehoard does the created germ to which bonehoard is attached do any damage?

The confusion arose because the Germ is 0/0, but cant exist without the bonehoard. My assumption was that the germ would ETB as a 0/0, do no damage, but be equiped before it died.

Shane says... #1

I think you would just deal 0 damage with the germ. I'm not certain though. Maybe you can order the stack so that it gets equipped and then deals damage. Again idk lol.

August 7, 2017 6:29 p.m.

Neotrup says... Accepted answer #2

702.91a Living weapon is a triggered ability. "Living weapon" means "When this Equipment enters the battlefield, create a 0/0 black Germ creature token, then attach this Equipment to it."

The token is created as a 0/0, triggering Pandemonium, then Bonehoard is attached to it. Then state based actions are checked, so if you have no creature cards in your graveyard the Germ will die at this point. Then Pandemonium's ability is put on the stack and you get to choose a target. Then you get to to respond (I'm assuming it's your turn), then your opponent. Once any additional spells or abilities have been resolved, the Germ will deal damage equal to it's current power to the target, if for some reason the germ is no longer on the battlefield (maybe your opponent killed it before Pandemonium's ability could resolve, or because you had no creature cards in your graveyard so it died before the trigger even got put on the stack) it will deal damage equal to it's power as it last existed on the battlefield.

August 7, 2017 6:31 p.m.

Neotrup says... #3

For that last part about it not being on the battlefield, this means it makes a big difference if the creature gets killed by a Fatal Push or by a Tragic Slip.

August 7, 2017 6:32 p.m.

Please login to comment