Multiple Underworld Dreams/Megrims

Asked by Cube 6 months ago

If I have multiple copies in play of Underworld Dreams or Megrim, would a single drawing/discarding a card trigger multiple damage? ie would two Underworld Dreams deal two damage for a single draw? Would two Megrim deal four damage for one discard?

cklise says... #1

Simply put, yes. Both enchantments would trigger for each relevant event, ie for drawing or discarding a card. Both triggers resolve separately, ie 1 damage twice for every card drawn or 2 damage twice for every card discarded.

January 12, 2017 2:05 a.m.

Boza says... Accepted answer #2

The easiest way to check that if any ability "stacks" this way is to check the wording. If the ability starts with "At", "when", "whenever", it is a triggered ability - it will trigger every time something happens. Like Megrim. These kinds of abilities "stack".

If the ability is replacing an event, it will usually start with an "if", for example, Corpsejack Menace. Multiple instances of this event will not "stack".

January 12, 2017 5:12 a.m.

Cube says... #3

Both great answers, helps going forward, thanks.

January 12, 2017 8:54 a.m.

Boza says... #4

Remember to mark an answer to remove the question from the queue.

January 12, 2017 11 a.m.

Neotrup says... #5

Bozo: Replacement effects do stack, the affected player, controller of the object, or owner of the object if it has no controller chooses the order in which the replacement effects apply. In the case of multiple instances of the same replacement effect, the order doesn't matter. From the Gatherer page for Corpsejack Menace:

10/1/2012: If you control two Corpsejack Menaces, the number of +1/+1 counters placed is four times the original number. Three Corpsejack Menaces multiplies the original number by eight, and so on.

January 12, 2017 12:20 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #6

@Boza: You're thinking of the rule that says a replacement effect can only be applied to an event once. That's why, for example, 2x Corpsejack Menace results in 4x counters instead of making the game hang because you're trying to add infinite counters.

January 12, 2017 1:28 p.m.

Boza says... #7

I may have given a bad example... thanks for the corrections!

January 13, 2017 2:21 a.m.

This discussion has been closed