Multiple questions about Paradox Haze

Asked by SorcerersBone 5 years ago

So I was thinking of convoluted ways to generate tokens, and this came to mind.

Paradox Haze (Enchantment - Aura) targeted by Liquimetal Coating (temporary Artifact Enchantment - Aura) chosen by Phyrexian Metamorph (perma Artifact Enchantment - Aura) enchanted by Animate Artifact (perma Artifact Enchantment Creature) enchanted by Followed Footsteps

First, now that the Aura bit fell off, am I no longer enchanted by Paradox Haze so I cant get that additional upkeep?

Second, would Followed Footsteps make copies of Paradox Haze or Phyrexian Metamorph ? If paradox, would it spit out Aura's or Creatures? (and would they still be artifacts?)

Drilnoth says... Accepted answer #1

This doesn't work at all due to an earlier step in the process, making the latter ones irrelevant. From the comp rules (emphasis added):

303.4d. An Aura can't enchant itself. If this occurs somehow, the Aura is put into its owner's graveyard. An Aura that's also a creature can't enchant anything. If this occurs somehow, the Aura becomes unattached, then is put into its owner's graveyard. (These are state-based actions. See rule 704.) An Aura can't enchant more than one object or player. If a spell or ability would cause an Aura to become attached to more than one object or player, the Aura's controller chooses which object or player it becomes attached to.

The moment you put Animate Artifact on the Aura Phyrexian Metamorph , said Metamorph almost immediately dies. It doesn't stop being an Aura; it is put into the grave.

July 19, 2014 12:28 a.m.

SorcerersBone says... #2

Wait if that's true then how come bestow lets the auras become creatures after the creature it enchants leaves the battlefield?

July 19, 2014 12:53 a.m.

Drilnoth says... #3

Because when they become Creatures they cease to be Auras. That is part of the rules for bestow keyword, not a rule inherent to Auras. Check it out.

July 19, 2014 1:48 a.m.

Named_Tawyny says... #4

Bestow doesn't let auras become creatures. It lets creatures (specifically : enchantment creatures) become auras.

July 19, 2014 8:16 a.m.

This discussion has been closed