Indestructible creature targeted with Bile Blight ?

Asked by IzzetGod 4 years ago

I'm a bit confused on how exactly this works...

So for example I have Siege Rhino on the battlefield. I attack and it get's blocked by my opponent's Eidolon of Blossoms . After combat, my opponent casts Bile Blight targeting Siege Rhino , and in response I cast Valorous Stance targeting my Siege Rhino to make him indestructible.

So would Siege Rhino die? Or does he stay on the battlefield due to being indestructible?

Devonin says... Accepted answer #1

He'll be a 4/5 -> 1/2 with 2 damage marked on him, indestructible. He will not die because he is indestructible.

Some people have this odd idea that damage reduces toughness and that somehow, a 4/5 blocked by a 2/2 becomes a 4/3. It doesn't it becomes a 4/5 with 2 damage marked on it.

February 5, 2015 8:33 p.m.

IzzetGod says... #2

So the 2 damage is only marked on it and would only matter if the Seige Rhino were to be signed lethal if it wasn't indestructible?

February 5, 2015 8:35 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

Yes. Damage doesn't reduce toughness. And as long as a permanent is indestructible, no amount of marked damage can destroy it regardless of what its toughness is.

The only exception to the above rule is infect and wither damage, which is dealt to creatures in the form of -1/-1 counters (and it's therefore the counters that reduce P/T).

February 5, 2015 8:47 p.m.

IzzetGod says... #4

Alright, thanks for the help guys!

February 5, 2015 8:59 p.m.

This discussion has been closed