Good question, Answer: In commander if a colour of mana; not in your commanders colour identity would be added to your mana pool 1 colorless mana is added instead.
October 9, 2017 9:29 p.m.
Update: You pay into it and you get out of it, just like if your color identity included green and white. DRACULA150704 was giving the answer that had been the rule before the release of Oath of the Gatewatch, when colorless mana was strictly less usable than colored mana. The rule was changed so you wouldn't be able to use a Darksteel Ingot in a 3-color deck to cast a Reality Smasher, for example.
October 9, 2017 9:46 p.m.
ok that sound about right- i used to play magic from about 2010-2015 but then only started playing again when amonkhet came out so i'm not up to date with all the new rules