Horde of Boggarts power and toughness in yard and library?

Asked by phyrexfulmen 6 years ago

What is Horde of Boggarts and Reckless One power and toughness in the graveyard and library?

Epochalyptik says... #1

These card have what are called "characteristic-defining abilities." These abilities function in all zones, not just on the battlefield.

Horde of Boggarts 's P/T is always equal to the number of red permanents you control, and Reckless One 's P/T is always equal to the number of Goblins on the battlefield.

August 1, 2014 5:33 p.m.

nobu_the_bard says... Accepted answer #2

Both of those have characteristic-defining abilities. Their power and toughness is always set as per their ability regardless of what zone they are. So if you control only Raging Goblin , and no opponents control goblins, they are both 1/1 in all zones. This is distinct from something like Muscle Sliver who, despite functionally normally never being smaller than 2/2 due to his ability, is considered a 1/1 while in any zone but the battlefield as his ability is not characteristic-defining.

Usually you can tell because the P/T will be printed with asterisks in these cases as opposed to hard numbers.

August 1, 2014 5:34 p.m.

phyrexfulmen says... #3

So they would count themselves and the Raging Goblin and thus be 2/2s (instead of 1/1s as you mentioned) in the yard and library, right?

August 1, 2014 5:59 p.m.

Gidgetimer says... #4

No, they count red permanents you control and goblins in play respectively. When either of them are in the library or graveyard they are neither permanents nor in play.

August 1, 2014 6:09 p.m.

Sam_I_am says... #5

They do not count themselves in the yard because:

  • Reckless One is not a goblin in play, so he doesn't count
  • horde of bogagarts is not a red permanent you control, so he doesn't count either
August 1, 2014 6:10 p.m.

phyrexfulmen says... #6

Of course, my bad. Thanks for the replies!

August 1, 2014 7:10 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #7

Please remember to select an answer to remove this question from the active queue.

August 1, 2014 7:24 p.m.

This discussion has been closed